AFA Adviser of the Year Award

Recognising the innovative leaders in advice

The search for the outstanding leaders in advice has begun and the AFA and foundation award partner Zurich are now seeking Australia’s best.

The AFA Adviser of the Year is undoubtedly one of Australia’s premier financial advice awards recognising qualities of leadership, innovation, customer-centricity and commitment to professional excellence.

  or     you know today.

To see a copy of the application questions prior to applying, click here.

After two years that have been heavily impacted by COVID, and no face-to-face Conferences, the AFA are once again running an Awards program in 2022, however have chosen to limit the number of awards.

With a very limited number of new advisers who have joined the profession, and the implications of the substantial changes to the education landscape that have arisen as a result of the FASEA Education Standard,  the AFA will focus on ‘The Adviser of the Year Award’ and’ Female Excellence in Advice’ - two prestigious awards that are very relevant in the current financial advice profession and broader financial services industry.

Meet our past winner

Award winners and finalists lead the way to create a more trusted, robust and diverse landscape that continues to raise the bar of the industry.

2019 Adviser of the Year 

Simone Du Chesne, WINNER, 2019 Adviser of The Year

EQ Wealth, NSW

"Winning the Award means the opportunity to be part of the process of changing the face of financial advice in Australia. I want to bring a more positive impact to what we do in the eyes of the general public."

Simone Du Chesne is the principal of two Sydney practices, EQ Wealth and Quantum Wealth and has spent ten of the past 12 years as a financial adviser. Prior to this, Simone worked for two years as head of product for fashion Jewellery retain chain DIVA and 15 years as Global Design Director, Sheridan Australia.

Simone holds a Master’s of Financial Planning from Kaplan. She enjoys solving clients financial problems and providing solutions which give peace of mind. Simone says her previous roles in product and marketing have developed an ability to always see things from the customers’ perspective.


The Judges

Kieran Forde

Chief Distribution Officer, Zurich Life & Investments

Nathan Taggart

Head of Sales, Zurich Life & Investments

Phil Anderson

CEO, Association of Financial Advisers

Katherine Hayes

NSW & ACT Director, Association of Financial Advisers

Peter Sobels

Director, Riskinfo

The judging process

A judging panel will assess all applications for the Award and select a shortlist to proceed to further stages. These include telephone interviews.

Ultimately finalists will be selected for the Award and will be invited to attend a full day judging day held in Sydney (or virtually) in September 2022 (travel and accommodation expenses will be covered if required to attend face to face).

Key Dates 2022


11 July

Applications open

12 August

Applications close

22 - 26 August

Semi-Finalists announced

5 – 9 September

Finalists announced

Week of 12 September

Finalist Judging Day

21-23 September

Winners announced at the AFA 2022 National Adviser Conference (Gold Coast)

What judges look for in an Adviser of the Year

The judging panel is looking for a good indication of who you are and what you do. Allow the judging panel to understand you as a person, articulate your beliefs and purpose and what has shaped your advice philosophy. You are encouraged to be yourself and demonstrate your professionalism and commitment to the industry and how you genuinely make a difference to the lives of your clients. You have a maximum of 500 words to answer each question and you are encouraged to send us supporting documents to support your application ( up to 10). These may include videos, client testimonials and references to bring your application to life. You must attach a copy of your current Financial Services Guide (FSG) as part of your application.

Judging criteria

The 2022 Adviser of the Year is assessed against the AFA's four key learning pillars:

  • Business performance
  • Adviser performance
  • Quality advice strategies
  • Professionalism and leadership

AFA membership

Applicants who progress to finalist stage of the 2022 AFA Adviser of the Year Award are expected to be current AFA members and attend the National Conference. You can join online at or by contacting the AFA on 1800 656 009.


Frequently asked questions

I am a previous winner or finalist in an AFA Award, am I eligible to apply?

Previous winners and finalists in the AFA Female Excellence in Advice, AFA Rising Star and AFA Excellence in Education Awards, AFA Practice of the Year are eligible to apply for the 2022 AFA Adviser of the Year.

How do I apply?

Click here to access the application form. From here you can build your online application and attach supporting documents. The closing date for applications is 6pm on Friday 12 August 2022.

Am I eligible to apply for the 2022 AFA Adviser of the Year Award if I have been a finalist in the past?

Previous finalists may apply for the award, however the maximum number of consecutive applications from finalists is two in two years for the same award.

Will extra attachments supporting my application be considered?

You are encouraged to send us supporting documents including videos, client testimonials, and references to bring your application to life ( up to 10). Please attach a copy of your Financial Services Guide (FSG) as a mandatory attachment as part of your application.



Please contact Amy Osmond on if you have any questions regarding The Adviser of the Year Award.


Hall of fame